Re-Learning GameMaker

So, I was planning to start a project where I port GameMaker games to Adobe Flash. But I realized that it has been several years since I even used GameMaker, or Adobe Flash for that matter. So, I decided I needed to go back and re-learn how to work with GameMaker, and then do the same with Adobe Flash, before I start my porting project.

I have a book called The Game Maker’s Apprentice, which has step-by-step instructions on how to create a number of different games. Unfortunately, I don’t think I have permission to recreate the instructions. But the book is available on Amazon and from various other sources, so I encourage you to look it up.

In the meantime, I will be thinking about how I can translate this effort into tutorials. I can’t “redistribute” the games or resources from the book, though I have permission to use the resources in my own games. So, if I needed to create examples for a tutorial, I might have to create my own image resources. I will have to give that some thought.

I will, at the very least, be posting progress reports here on my blog. You can find more information about GameMaker 8.1 and a download link for the Lite (free) version at this site. You can find tutorials for GameMaker 8.x at this site.

Leave a Reply

