Free Seamless Abstract Patterns!

So I have been playing around with Photoshop and Gimp today, in preparation for designing a custom letterhead as part of my personal branding package. I had this idea for using an abstract pattern as part of the design. So, I played around with every designers favorite friend: Render Clouds.

The interesting thing is, Gimp (GNU Image Manipulation Program) can do some things that Adobe Photoshop can’t. Of course, Photoshop can also do things that Gimp can’t do. A lot of people don’t have access to Adobe products, because their commercial price is so high. Luckily, since I use Adobe Creative Suite in my schoolwork, I was able to purchase it at the student price. Having access to both Photoshop and Gimp is pretty useful.

Photoshop can do a Render Clouds filter, but it does it automatically. It just dumps something on the canvas, without allowing the user any input into how it renders. Gimp, on the other hand, opens a dialog box that allows the user to change various settings that change the look of the resulting cloud noise.

So, the first thing I did was a Render Clouds in Gimp. I put all the settings at maximum, to create tight swirling patterns. Then I duplicated the layer twice, set one copy to Burn layer mode, and set the second copy to Dodge layer mode. I ended up with this:

Then I imported the above pattern into Photoshop. I added a layer above the pattern, and did a standard Render Clouds on the second layer. Photoshop’s Render Clouds is more diffuse, more widely spaced. I started playing with layer modes. Here are the results of my experiments:

   

Last, I changed the order of the layers, so the imported pattern was on top and the Photoshop Render Clouds layer was on the bottom. I ended up with this:

You can colorize any of these patterns, add a color adjustment layer (in Photoshop), or do lots of other things with them. I hereby give you permission to use any or all of these patterns under the Creative Commons license. The license below allows you to use any of these patterns, non-commercially, as long as you give attribution credit to me. You can modify these patterns, as long as you share them out as I have here. Please check the Creative Commons website for more information about the license.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

