Fantasy Cartography Adapted for Gimp

I’ve been working on another map tutorial series. This one is based on a video tutorial series by Butch Curry called “Fantasy Cartography with Adobe Photoshop“. It’s a few years old now, and I don’t know that Curry is still updating the series. But it is a good basic method for creating fantasy maps with a hand-drawn look.

When I first joined the Cartographer’s Guild, I didn’t have access to Adobe Photoshop. So I was using Gimp (GNU Image Manipulation Program), an open-source and free raster image editing program. I liked Butch Curry’s tutorials and wanted to make them available to people who used Gimp instead of Photoshop. So I started writing a series of tutorials adapting Curry’s methods to Gimp.

Here is the first tutorial in that series. I’ll be posting more installments in Art Journal in the days and weeks to come, though I may take a break in order to post other things in the Art Journal category.

FantasyCartography_AdaptedToGimp_Ep1

EDIT: Here are the links to the other parts in the tutorial series. More added as I post them.

Leave a Reply

