Art Journal: Damsel in Distress Mannequins

So today’s post requires a little explanation. Last year, I went to a session of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School. Basically, they do themed sessions, where the models dress in costume and use poses that fit the theme. The session I went to was “Damsels in Distress”. I was interested in it primarily because at the time I was working on an art composition that was “pulp” style–a hero rescuing a damsel in distress.

I got quite a lot of sketches from the session, but since I am inexperienced in doing figure drawing and particularly inexperienced at fast sketches, they are all pretty vague and incomplete. So in order to make them more useful, I decided to draw mannequin poses based on the sketches. That way I would have a clear idea of how the entire body was positioned.

Some of them worked better than others. Some of the poses were quite complex, so in some of the mannequins the proportions or positions are a bit off. However, I hope they can still be useful if you are looking for a unique or different pose for a composition, particularly if it is sci-fi/fantasy oriented.

Here are the poses:

Damsel in Distress Mannequins

Leave a Reply

