Art Journal: Making Maps in GIMP Tutorial Pt. 3

I have finished Part 3 of the tutorial revision I’ve been working on. Part 1 showed you how to create the basic landmass shape, and some techniques for generating a random map if you don’t have a sketch to start with. Part 2, showed you how to color in your ocean/sea, and how to color your landmass with textured grass and dirt. Part 3, posted here, shows you how to create mountains and forests on your map.

Here are a couple of shots of the example map from the tutorial, showing what you get at the end of Part 3. The first shows just the snowy mountains:

And this one shows the mountains and some forested areas:

I hope you enjoy working through the tutorial! Please tell your friends about this tutorial–but link back to me, please, rather than just passing along the files. Thanks!

Using GIMP to Create an Artistic Regional RPG Map Pt 3

4 thoughts on “Art Journal: Making Maps in GIMP Tutorial Pt. 3

  1. Hi !
    I really like your tutorial, helped me a lot 😛 But, when I attempt to do the part with the colour layers, the forest doesn’t change colour, it stays like it was. Any idea to help me ?

  2. I’ve finally figured it out. I searched for the original tuto for the forests and found that it was updated, well, anyway.

    Thanks a lot !

    • Hi Anthony!

      Thanks for your comments, I really appreciate you reading my blog. I’m not exactly sure why your color layers weren’t showing up, although I am glad you figured it out. Any chance you could give more detail on what went wrong, and how you fixed it? That way, if someone else has the same problem I will have additional ideas for how to help them out. 🙂

      Thanks again for reading, and I hope you let your friends know about my blog!

      – Cool Mama

  3. I’m not sure what went wrong, really, haha ! But I think you could update the forest part, because with the original, (which was revised) every thing was okay. (Sorry if my English is a little bad, I’m from Quebec)

    Otherwise, you could just put this link in it : http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?10009-Making-Photo-realistic-Trees-in-GIMP-A-Mini-Tut

    P.S. I don’t understand there aren’t more readers, ’cause your blog is great 😛

    Have a good day !

Leave a Reply

